Biology Colloquium Series

The Biology Colloquium is a weekly seminar held throughout the academic year, featuring distinguished speakers in many areas of the biological sciences, from universities and institutions worldwide. More information on speakers, their affiliations, and titles of their talks will be added as available. Please check back regularly.

The Colloquium takes place at the Stata Center's Kirsch Auditorium, 32-123, at 4:00PM on most Tuesdays during the school year and January (Please note some location changes as indicated below). Refreshments are served at 3:45 outside the seminar room.

To be added to our mailing list to receive further information and announcements please email: biocolloquium [at] mit.edu.

 

 


Fall 2017

Date

Speaker

Title

Host

9/12 Karla Neugebauer (Yale) TBD Chris Burge
9/19 Pamela Bjorkman (Cal Tech) www.its.caltech.edu/~bjorker/ TBD Dennis Kim
9/26 Science Slam Science Slam Vivian Siegel
10/3 Susan Ackerman (UCSD) biology.ucsd.edu/research/faculty/sackerman TBD Postdocs
10/17 Michael Sheetz (Columbia) mbi.nus.edu.sg/michael-sheetz/ TBD Adam Martin
10/24 Adam Martin TBD Alan Grossman
10/31 Yigong Shi, Sackler lecture (Tsinghua) ygshi.life.tsinghua.edu.cn TBD Phil Sharp
11/14 TBD TBD TBD
11/21 Piyush Gupta TBD Alan Grossman
11/28 David Baltimore (Cal Tech) www.bbe.caltech.edu/content/david-baltimore  also the (Salvador E. Luria) TBD Richard Hynes
12/5 Stephen Harrison (Harvard Medical School) crystal.harvard.edu TBD TBD
12/12 Yukiko Yamashita (Univ. of Michigan) www.lsi.umich.edu/labs/yukiko-yamashita-la TBD Terry Orr-Weaver

IAP 2018

Date

Speaker

Title

Host

1/9 Scott Kenney www.mskcc.org/research-areas/labs/scott-keeney TBD Angelika Amon
1/16 TBD TBD TBD
1/23 Luciano Marraffini (Rockefeller) marraffini.rockefeller.edu TBD Mike Laub
1/30 TBD TBD TBD

Spring 2018

Date

Speaker

Title

Host

2/6 TBD TBD TBD
2/13 TBD TBD TBD
2/27 TBD TBD TBD
3/6 TBD TBD TBD
3/13 Gia Voeltz (Univ. of Colorado) voeltzlab.org mcdb.colorado.edu/directory/Gia_Voeltz TBD Iain Cheeseman
3/20 Russell Vance mcb.berkeley.edu/labs/vance/ TBD Stefani Spranger
3/27 TBD TBD TBD
4/3 Tony Hyman (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology & Genetics) mpi-cbg.de/research-groups/current-groups/anthony-hyman/group-leader/ hymanlab.mpi-cbg.de/hyman_lab/ TBD postdocs
4/10 Venki Ramakrishnan '09-10 www2.mrc-lmb.cam.ac.uk/group-leaders/n-to-s/venki-ramakrishnan/ TBD TBD
4/24 TBD TBD TBD
5/1 Shelly Berger (UPenn) hosting.med.upenn.edu/berger/ TBD TBD
5/8 David Julius, Rich lecture (UCSF) physio.ucsf.edu/julius/ TBD TBD
5/15 TBD TBD TBD

 

 

Named Lectures

Thanks to the generousity of our donors, the Biology Colloquium Series has a number of special lectures, named in honor of members of the MIT Biology community: